The Making of a Website – Project #5

29 03 2010

Personal Website and Design Portfolio

First off, I’d like to say making a website with Dreamweaver is an incredibly tedious task and I have a new found respect for web designers. When we were initially given this assignment, I was very excited about having a personal website to display my portfolio and resume on. I figured it would be a fantastic resource for future employers to see what I have created in one place. I really enjoyed most of the process of making my website until I began working with Dreamweaver. In my opinion, I feel it’s a bit repetitive to create a mock version of your site on Photoshop and transfer it to Dreamweaver. The program was very fickle and did not allow a lot of control. It reminded me of calculus, actually: it requires a lot of patience, time, and research to fully understand the program.

The end result is what you see above. I am thrilled with the final results! It looks put together and organized, which is the kind of image I want to portray. As I mentioned, I plan to provide the link of my website on my resume for future employers. This project could not have come at a better time; I am going to Los Angeles this summer for Elon in LA, an internship program, and this website will help me stand out in the application process. I don’t think many interns can say they made a website of their own, and I believe that shows a lot of dedication and effort to becoming more familiar with various aspects of technology, media and communications.

Check out my website at http://student.elon.edu/lludlow

Actions

Information

16 responses

1 04 2010
Katie O'Brien

This is a great site. I love the header. I think it all represents you well. Maybe change the color of the button as you change pages.

1 04 2010
Sarah Carideo

I love how clean and clear your site is. Your color scheme is great and the boldness of it is appropriate if you’re looking for a job in entertainment. I would just suggest having all of the tabs turn pink when you click on them and not just the home.

1 04 2010
jbranchaud

This is an amazing site, one of my favorites. I can tell that you really spent a lot of time on it and that you worked very hard. It is very clean and bold which is something that is needed in the entertainment industry. Overall Great Job!

1 04 2010
anastasiaromanowicz

This look great! Its extremely easy to follow, and really captured my attention and made me want to look into all of your links and information you have provided. I think you did a really nice job.

1 04 2010
caitlincavanaugh

I really love the colors you used for your site. They are very bold and sharp – which works well with your font and what your site is for. I think it is very well laid out and it was very easy to follow. Good job!

1 04 2010
michiyaenglish

Professionally, I feel like your site takes the cake. It’s clean, clear, and easy to navigate.

1 04 2010
Alex

This is by far my favorite site out the bunch. The colors work perfectly (and you effectively used pink without it looking the slightest bit “girly”) and the layout is clear and easy to navigate.

1 04 2010
stephalvarez

Your site looks so professional! The colors look great and the images you chose for your home page make the viewer see the rest of your work.

2 04 2010
mariahirvin

This is an awesome site! My favorite part are the tabs.

2 04 2010
katherinekoch

Very professional and clean. I like the colors and the easy navigation.

2 04 2010
astevens7

This site is really cool I like the pink and black and also the featured work. It works very well.

2 04 2010
Caitlin

Your website was another one of my favorites, mainly because hot pink and black together are my favorite color scheme and I was so glad to see someone had used it! Your design was really good, and the site was simple, yet elegant and very easy to navigate. Great job!

2 04 2010
katiemoulton

I love the colors on your site! I also like how you included all types of your work that you’ve done-it really makes your site stand out from everyone else’s. The only thing I would change would be to highlight each tab in pink as you go from page to page.

2 04 2010
janaefrazier

your color and font are too sheik! Your about Me section is amazing and I definitely think you could get a job with this site, Lovely Job!

2 04 2010
lizskube

This looks so professional!! Great job! I like your colors and formatting. Its very classic, still girly, but strong and looks like you mean business. Really good!

7 04 2010
josephkiernan

I like the color scheme and agree that the color of the button should change with the page. Looks professional.

Leave a Reply

